Bathroom Makeover (Before and After)

I can’t believe that it has taken more than a year for me to finish the updates to my bathroom. While I admittedly took time off from house projects last summer and fall while we pursued our sailing dreams, I’m embarrassed that so much time has passed while I worked on these simple updates.

Overall, this bathroom wasn’t too bad – the tile floors and shower were new when we bought the house five years ago, the sink and toilet are in perfect condition, and the lighting and fixtures are chrome and modern looking. The best way to describe this bathroom is that it looks good from afar…but far from good close up. 🙂 Up close, the old built-in medicine cabinet was covered in dozens of layers of paint and its hinges were rusted, the slatted cabinet doors were outdated, and while the room is small and light filled, too much white was making it feel overly neutral.

Since this project feels like its been going on since the beginning of time, here is a reminder of my list of to-dos:

As you can see, the last thing on my to-do list was to add some color to the room, which I tackled recently with a few simple changes. Here’s a picture of the before…so much white!BathsideAnd the after, below! The wall color is the same (Barely Jade by Glidden), but I framed a much more colorful print, brought in some greenery with a potted succulent, and some warmth with a wood tissue box holder. Finally, I replaced those boring white hand towels with some grey medallion jacquard ones from West Elm.

bathside1

As an aside, the art print came from this great book of prints, called The Custom Art Collection, which features prints from up-and-coming artists. Nick purchased the Contemporary Home book for my birthday last year; the Collection is a really cute series of four books that each include 40 prints that easily tear out for framing. It’s such a fun and affordable option for decorating your walls; I have prints from the book framed all over our home!

After a little internal back and forth, I also decided to paint my under sink vanity cabinet. I originally wanted to paint the cabinet black to match the tile flooring, but eventually settled on a shade of grey (which we actually had color matched to the hand towels!) Here is the very white (and boring) before:

bath3And the after! I’m in love with this simple change. Nick picked up a small test pot of paint from the hardware store (in a wipe-able eggshell finish) and there was more than enough for me to give it two quick coats of color. I like how the cabinet now looks like a piece of furniture and really stands out from the rest of the white in the bathroom.
vanityHere’s another view of what it looks like from the hallway. The grey cabinet really plays well with the light jade wall color and black-and-white tile floors and no longer gets lost in all that white.

vanity2

The last change I made was to replace my previous bath mat (which was the same shade as my light jade wall color) with a nautical themed grey and white whale mat. The rug matches the other grey elements in the bathroom and also adds a bit of whimsy and fun!

hallview

So there you have it! I’m finally ready to call my bathroom update DONE!

While none of the changes I made were drastic, I’m really pleased with the difference that the few simple, inexpensive updates made to the room. And to save you from having to scroll or or re-read old posts, here are a couple more before-and-after pictures:

BeforeAfterBath1 Bath2 Bath3

So what do you think, were the updates worth the wait?

One thought on “Bathroom Makeover (Before and After)

Leave a Reply

