Slats Be Gone

Almost a year ago, I had mentioned wanting to make some changes to my bathroom, which is the only one of our three baths that is original to the house and was in need of a few updates.

Bath12

I tackled a couple of projects on my to-do list last spring and summer, but then nothing more got done until recently. As a reminder, here is my mini to-do list for the project:

  • Add some additional color to the room
  • Update the slatted cabinet door for a more modern look
  • Update the cruddy old vanity (Read about that update here)
  • Brainstorm ways to organize and add more storage to the cabinet

The louvered, slatted cabinet doors were something I tackled late last fall. Nick thought I was crazy, but for some reason those outdated-looking doors really bothered me. So Nick removed the doors and was easily able to cut out the slatted insert using our Dremel Saw-Max.

Cabinetbefore

Since we don’t have a router to make a rabbet groove, after popping out the slats, we purchased some thin wood trim pieces from the hardware store, which we glued and tacked into place. It’s hard to see in the photo below, but this created a recessed lip to hold the new, flat center piece in place.

cabinetinset

For the center piece, we purchased a thin piece of birch wood, which we cut to size and glued in place.

birchboard

Here’s the new door after it was sanded, caulked, primed and painted. It’s a subtle change but looks so much better in my opinion!

Cabinetafter

And here’s a side-by-side photo…

BeforeAfter

While I was very pleased with my more modern-looking cabinet door the inside of the door was looking very white and boring, so I decided to line it with the same contact paper I used when I redid the medicine cabinet. I also hot glued two clothespins (which I spray painted gold at Thanksgiving to hold our name cards) to the door to hold pictures or cute cards from family and friends.

Cabinetinside It’s been a slow process, but that’s one more thing off my to-do list for the bathroom update!

  • Add some additional color to the room
  • Update the slatted cabinet door for a more modern look
  • Update the cruddy old vanity (Read about that update here)
  • Brainstorm ways to organize and add more storage to the cabinet
2 thoughts on “Slats Be Gone

  1. Pingback: The Best Quarter I Ever Spent | Isn't It Sweet

  2. Pingback: Bathroom Makeover (Before and After) | Isn't It Sweet

Leave a Reply

