Weekend in Wisconsin

Nick and I returned a few days ago from a long weekend in Wisconsin, where we spent time with our family and friends and enjoyed the unofficial last weekend of summer.

We had such a great visit and especially enjoyed the quality time with our loved ones. Nick and I spent more time having fun than taking photos so we didn’t capture a lot of the weekend’s adventures, but here’s a few snapshots from our iPhones.

I was in Chicago for the early part of last week  and headed up to Milwaukee the night before Nick flew in so that I could spend an evening dining with my sister-in-law Sarah and bestie/college roommate  Shannon (sadly I didn’t capture a picture of the three of us, just this one of me and Shannon); it was definitely great to catch up.

Image

Nick flew in the next day and we spent a really nice night with his family. The following day we headed up to Door County with Nick’s parents and brother. Door County is one of my favorite places in Wisconsin because of its many cute shops and restaurants.

Image

We stayed busy with shopping, eating, mini golfing and biking (Nick and I even successfully rode a tandem bike on the trails through Peninsula State Park!).

Image

Our time in Door County went quickly and before we knew it we were headed back down to Green Bay to spend a few days with my family and childhood friend, Marisa. She and her husband Brad treated us to a really nice dinner at their home and it was great to finally visit their home and spend some time catching up with them.

Image

Marisa and Brad have a pear tree in their yard and it was brimming with ripe pears – Nick and I even tasted one right off the tree (we were so surprised since we’ve never seen a pear tree and had no idea one could survive in Wisconsin!).

Image

The next day we headed to a park to celebrate Labor Day with a picnic with my family. I was especially happy to spend some time with my nieces, who just won’t stop growing!

Image

Even though it was slightly overcast and cool the park and picnic was a hit with everyone!

Image

Image

Image

The day (and weekend) was a lot of fun, but sadly our trip was a short one and the next day Nick and I headed back home. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit!

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend as well!

2 thoughts on “Weekend in Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

