Covering it up

On a recent trip to Crate and Barrel, I came across some blue textured terry dish towels that I immediately had to have for my kitchen couch.

There are two things you should know about me. One – I’ll sew anything out of a pretty napkin or hand towel. Two – I have an obsession with changing our couch pillow covers, and do so frequently. For me it’s one of the easiest ways to add color or bring a fresh look to the couch and room. I always sew my own pillow covers and a yard of fabric costs less than $10, so it’s a low cost change. What my confessions mean though is that nearly all the throw pillows in our house are covered with kitchen linens 🙂

Anyway, the dish towels at Crate & Barrel caught my eye because the navy blue color perfectly matched our upstairs couch. I also liked the subtle weave of the fabric, which you can see in the close-up photo from the site below. The towels were priced at $5 each, the perfect price for brand new pillow covers!

The dish clothes were nearly the perfect size for our throw pillows, so I only had to make one cut. After ironing the towel I folded it in half crosswise and measured 1.5 inches from the edge of the open seam. Then I sewed along the line and cut off the excess fabric.

Cutcloseup

The dish towels had a nice contrasting white border and Nick and I decided we liked it, so rather than sewing the seam inside of the pillow I turned the towel right side out and sewed as close to the edge as possible. Thankfully, the texture of the fabric completely hid my stitches.

sidescloseup

I haven’t mastered zippers yet (or tried) so I simply jammed the pillow insert into the towel as far as I could and then sewed shut the other open side.

sewshut

Here’s the finished pillows on the couch. Our previous pillow covers were patterned and very brightly colored, so I’m liking the much more subdued look (for now).

Pillowsafter

And a close-up…

Aftercloseup

Super simple and inexpensive, my favorite kind of project.

Nick is happy with how absorbent they are in case of any spills, which he loves to point out every.chance.he.can.get! Gotta love him.

2 thoughts on “Covering it up

  1. Pingback: My name is Sara and I have an addiction… | Isn't It Sweet

  2. Pingback: Be our guest | Isn't It Sweet

Leave a Reply

