Yardstick Christmas Card Holder

One of my favorite things about Christmas is receiving greeting cards from many of our family and friends (yay for mail that isn’t just junk!).

I love to display and enjoy the cards and for the past few years I’ve set them out on a small console table. However, we’ve started to receive more and more flat photo cards that don’t stand up on their own like folded cards, so I needed to come up with a new way to display them for the season.

After turning to the Internet for inspiration and tossing around a few ideas, I decided to make a simple Christmas tree out of yardsticks and attach our holiday cards to it using small craft clothespins. It only took a few hours to complete this project, and since I did it while my driver Nick was out of town a few weeks ago I mostly used supplies we had on hand, which also made this project very inexpensive!

The first step to making a yardstick Christmas card holder is to gather the necessary supplies:

  • Three yardsticks
  • Dark wood stain
  • Green craft paint
  • Craft clothespins

I bought the yardsticks earlier this year (at a very helpful place:) and paid about $1 each for them. You could also use thin lattice boards, but I was trying to work with what I had on hand.

Yardsticks

The next step is to paint or stain one of the yardsticks a dark color, this will be the Christmas tree trunk. While you can still see some of the writing on the yardstick at this angle, in person it’s hardly visible and it doesn’t impact the finished result.

Yardstickstain

Next, use a miter box or saw to cut the remaining two yard sticks into six tiered lengths (confession #1: figuring out the math to have tiered lengths and no leftover scraps was the hardest part of this project! 🙂 I used the following cuts:

  • 20 inches long
  • 16 inches long
  • 12 inches long
  • 10 inches long
  • 8 inches long
  • 6 inches long

Yardstickcutting

This is what you’ll end up with, six tiered lengths of wood. These will be your tree “branches”.

Yardstickcuts

Next, coat the cut yardstick pieces with several thin, even coats of green craft paint or spraypaint.

Greensticks

Finally, attach the shorter “branch” boards to the longer “trunk” board from shortest (on the top) to longest (on the bottom). Since the yardsticks are thin I used hot glue rather than nails – wood glue would also work well too.

Yardsticktree

I didn’t get a picture of this step, but I attached some small round self-stick felt pads to the back of the stained “trunk” piece to help offset it from the wall so there would be enough room to attach the clothespins.

The last step is to attach the card holder to the wall. I chose to display the card holder on our lower staircase ledge and simply attached it to the wall with two small, hidden Command picture hanging strips.

Finally, on a recent trip to PaperSource I picked up some small gold craft clothespins for $3 to hold the cards in place, and with that we have a festive new Christmas tree holder to display our holiday greeting cards!

Yardstick

Confession #2 I finished this project several weeks ago when we’d only received a few  holiday cards, so I pulled out some cards I saved from last Christmas to show you the finished project! But it’s nearly full now and it’s still working great!

One thought on “Yardstick Christmas Card Holder

  1. Pingback: It’s very merry | Isn't It Sweet

Leave a Reply

