Fall Decorating

Last week I shared my painted acorns project, but I didn’t share how I used them in my fall decorating.  Nick and I tend to keep all of our decorating  simple,  so we just picked up some pumpkins, gourds and maize from the market and displayed a few of our already-owned seasonal decor items.

I started with our fireplace mantel, since our front door opens directly into our living room and it’s the first thing you see when you enter our house. I thought it would be fun to decorate the pumpkins we bought before we carve them later this month, so Nick and I got crafty with some paint. Nick recreated a  favorite Halloween sweet by painting his pumpkin to look like  candy corn!

I made his pumpkin the centerpiece of  the mantel and surrounded it with a few glass hurricane jars that I filled with mini pumpkins and gourds.

I’m so happy with how my painted acorns turned out, I love the pop of color they add to the mantel and I think I’ll be able to display them throughout the holidays.

I also put out a few small square vases filled with scented podka pumpkins. I couldn’t resist these dried mini pumpkins when I saw them last year at one of my favorite local home stores. Tell me I’m not the only one obsessed with things in miniature?!

Since our dining room table is also visible from our front door, I displayed a few fall leaves and some small gourds on a basic black candle dish and placed it next to my pumpkin, which I painted chevron and topped with a gold stem!

So that’s it – I’ll probably add a few things here and there as we get closer to Thanksgiving, but for now, I love how a few touches of fall can make the whole house feel cozy!

2012 Fall Bucket List: 

  • Attend a fall festival or Oktoberfest (Annapolis Fall Festival)
  • Carve a pumpkin and roast the seeds
  • Go on a fall picnic
  • Roast s’mores in the fireplace
  • Bake pumpkin bread
  • Go on a hike and enjoy nature
  • Try a new hearty soup or fall recipe
  • Drink apple cider
  • Go camping
  • Run the Turkey Trot 5/10-mile
  • Drink a pumpkin beer (Starr Hill Boxcar Pumpkin Porter)
  • Create a fall mantel
2 thoughts on “Fall Decorating

  1. Pingback: Fall Bucket List Wrap-Up | Isn't It Sweet

Leave a Reply

