DIY Tray Set

A few weeks ago I saw this adorable galvanized metal condiment and tray set at Pottery Barn and immediately wanted it for holding cutlery and napkins when we entertain outside. 

After a trip to Pottery Barn I learned the set wasn’t carried in stores, and apparently it’s a very popular item since it was sold out online and is currently on back order until mid-August! 

I wasn’t willing to wait until August to order the tray set, so I decided to DIY one myself and found plenty of inspiration online. 

On a trip to World Market last weekend I came across a simple white ceramic rectangular tray for only $4.99. My plan was to decorate it with quilted glass jelly jars, similar to the inspiration pictures I found online, until I came across these glass tealight jars, also at World Market for only $2.99. Two jars fit perfectly on the rectangular tray and since we rarely entertain large groups I didn’t think it would be a problem to squeeze all of the plastic cutlery in one jar and napkins in the other. So I bought two of the jars in clear glass. 

At home I hot glued the jars to the ceramic tray so they wouldn’t slide around and would be easier to carry from inside to outside, especially since I’m such a klutz! I also poured a small amount of white pebble vase filler at the bottom. A blog I read recommends using aquarium gravel as vase filler since it comes in nearly every color and is far less expensive than fillers sold at home stores. I bought two pounds of white gravel at PetSmart for only a few dollars. 

Since July 4th is right around the corner I added some patriotic napkins and a small flag and declared my new tray set a success! I can’t wait to use it outside. 

Leave a Reply

